Skip to content

Giveaway! Redshirts by John Scalzi

September 25, 2012

It seems like moving must always come with obnoxious Internet/cable-related complications. To celebrate the restoration of Internet service to my apartment (yay!), Crunchy Dragon is hosting its first-ever giveaway!  Because free books are great, and I find myself with an extra copy of Redshirts, John Scalzi’s thoughtful and giggle-inducing metafictional exploration of a Sci-Fi TV Show That Isn’t Star Trek.

Haven’t read it yet? 1) What’s wrong with you!? and 2) Now’s your chance! Comment below with your favorite sci-fi TV show(s) to enter the giveaway. They may or may not be as terribly written as the spooftastic one in Redshirts, and they may or may not actually be Star Trek. Up to you!

Have only a vague idea what this whole “red shirt” thing is about? Get thee to TV Tropes.

Giveaway fine print: US only, please (woe to international shipping costs). Open for entries until 12:01 AM on Monday, October 1. Winner will be selected via random number generator, so don’t worry, you won’t be penalized if you hate Doctor Who or something. (Please tell me you don’t hate Doctor Who or something.)

29 Comments leave one →
  1. September 25, 2012 7:36 PM

    M y favorite sci-fi TV show? It’s a tie between Firefly and Doctor Who, definitely.

  2. Anne permalink
    September 25, 2012 7:37 PM

    Hmmm, favorites? Just to name a few StarGate SG1 & Atlantis, Eureka, Star Trek: TNG & DS9, Warehouse 13…I could go on.

    • September 25, 2012 8:17 PM

      You managed to hit a whole bunch of my blind spots (with the exception of Star Trek). I keep meaning to watch Warehouse 13 and Eureka–might have to move them up the list!

  3. Dawn Betts-Green permalink
    September 25, 2012 7:37 PM

    Star Trek and Quantum Leap! Pick me! :-D

  4. September 25, 2012 7:37 PM

    “LOST” has to be tops for me, even though it was largely stealth sci fi until the end with an overwrought final chapter. Similarly, I’ll put “Battlestar Galactica” on my list. Wrapping up the more recent shows, “Fringe” and its distant cousin “X-Files.” It didn’t last long, but “Firefly” left an indelible mark. And thanks to my daughter, I’m rediscovering “Doctor Who.” Finally, my life-long trekker heart has to list “Star Trek: The Next Generation.”

    • September 25, 2012 8:15 PM

      So much good stuff in this comment! I absolutely adore Firefly and Doctor Who, and grew up on a steady diet of Star Trek: TNG. I’m in the middle of watching BSG for the first time right now. It got off to a slow start for me, but I’m in the middle of season 2 at the moment and really enjoying it.

  5. September 25, 2012 7:42 PM

    BSG, but only in an alternate universe where most of the fourth season didn’t happen.

    • September 25, 2012 8:17 PM

      Been watching BSG for a month or so, but haven’t gotten to the fourth season yet… uh-oh.

  6. Zach Rossetto permalink
    September 25, 2012 7:42 PM

    Firefly
    Farscape

  7. September 25, 2012 7:44 PM

    Until recently, it would have been “Star Trek: Deep Space Nine,” but then my girlfriend insisted I grow some culture (unlike, uh, the cultures that occasionally grow in half-finished bottles of Gatorade in my car’s cupholders) and give that stuff the BBC puts on a spin… so, now, I’m a bloody Whovian.

  8. Brian permalink
    September 25, 2012 8:03 PM

    I know it’s an easy one, but Firefly has some of the best re-watch value of any TV!

  9. September 25, 2012 8:22 PM

    I have a slew of favorites… Battlestar Galactica (new!), Eureka, Firefly, StarTrek DS9, and I can’t help it…Babylon 5! :)

  10. September 25, 2012 8:34 PM

    Hmmm. Hard choice, but: Fringe!

    • September 25, 2012 8:41 PM

      Good one! I stopped watching Fringe in the middle of season 3 for some reason, but I’ve seen a couple of the latest episodes, and they’re fantastic. I should really catch up.

  11. Dawn K permalink
    September 25, 2012 8:43 PM

    Love Doctor Who and intrigued by Fringe. But I’m a Torchwood girl. Can’t help myself!

    • September 25, 2012 8:59 PM

      LOVE Torchwood. I came to the Whoniverse backward, having watched Torchwood first, and it’s still my favorite.

  12. September 25, 2012 9:27 PM

    Battlestar Galactica!

    • October 1, 2012 9:39 AM

      Congrats, Andrew! The random number generator odds are in your favor. Look out for an email with details.

  13. Kit permalink
    September 25, 2012 10:18 PM

    Toss up between Red Dwarf and Firefly

  14. September 26, 2012 12:13 AM

    I would be creative and say something that isn’t Firefly…but Firefly.

    And also Star Trek. All of it. So much Star Trek. My Star Trek knowledge would be embarrassing if I were not so damn proud of it.

    I did read the fine print! My parents are coming out in December, and they have a box of reading material and clothing to bring with them, so I have a Texas address with a promise of delivery at some point soon-ish.

    • September 26, 2012 9:39 AM

      Had a feeling a delivery to you would involve Texas! Haha. And no, embarrassment over Star Trek knowledge is not allowed.

  15. domynoe permalink
    September 26, 2012 12:44 AM

    Stargate Sg-1. Loved the show for itself, of course, but also for its influence on my autistic son. It was the first TV program he would watch without stimming, which is an amazing thing, if you know anything about autism. We were so incredibly disappointed when it was canceled.

  16. Lauren permalink
    September 26, 2012 1:46 AM

    Ideally liked Babylon 5, Farscape, and Eureka.

  17. Jessica permalink
    September 26, 2012 11:13 AM

    Eureka is definately my favorite but I also love Doctor Who, Firefly, and Sanctuary. I could make an endless list.

  18. September 26, 2012 12:31 PM

    I’ve always loved Star Trek, but since watching Doctor Who on Netflix it’s fast becoming my favorite show of all time.

  19. September 30, 2012 10:16 AM

    My favorite Sci-Fi show is Firefly, and I’m still sad its wings were plucked early.

Leave a Reply

