Skip to content

Cover Cage Match: The Night Circus

May 21, 2012

Welcome to the second installment in my Cover Cage Match series! From Scott Lynch’s The Lies of Locke Lamora to Erin Morgenstern’s The Night Circus.

Image

Exhibit A, in the left corner: UK hardcover–going head to head with the US hardcover, a.k.a. Exhibit B.

I’m pretty sure I’ve mentioned elsewhere that I adore my copy of The Night Circus as a physical object. It has a lovely cover, stylish black-and-white-striped endpapers, and silver foil-stamped lettering under the dust jacket, which is important when you take off dust jackets to read, which I do.

Yet I’m pretty torn on this cover match-up! They’re both rather stylish. On the one hand, those white silhouettes on the British cover are a good match for the book: chic but whimsical. On the other hand, the British title treatment leans a little too far toward whimsy. It comes across as too childish. For me, the American cover more than wins on title treatment. But for some strange reason, instead of reading as a clock and tents, that cover image always seems like a creepy marionette sitting with its strings cut. (To me, at least–not that the creepy marionette image doesn’t also suit the book!)

Overall, I have to say I’m leaning toward the US version. It’s a touch crisper and cleaner than its UK counterpart.

Thoughts? Let me know!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 21, 2012 11:30 PM

    I really do like them both! But for some reason I find myself drawn more to the UK version. I really like the silhouettes and the largeness of the title.

    • May 22, 2012 3:33 PM

      Good point! That is the one thing I really do like about the UK title treatment. It’s large enough to stand out.

  2. May 22, 2012 12:10 AM

    Have to go for the cover with the dapper gentleman.

Trackbacks

  1. Cover Cage Match Update: The Night Circus « Crunchy Dragon

Leave a Reply

