Skip to content

Time for a Meta Post

December 19, 2011

Have been an abysmally terrible blogger over the past few weeks.  But!  I have a new job, which is as good an excuse as I could wish for.  Yours truly just started as a Marketing Assistant at HarperCollins Children’s, working with YA and middle-grade books.

As you may have guessed, I’m a huge genre geek.  And so the only correct response to this–YA being the bastion of great genre ideas that it is (everyone from Tamora Pierce to JK Rowling to Suzanne Collins to Veronica Roth*, I’m lookin’ at you)–is AWWW YEAHHH AWESOME! :D

At first, I had a moment of panic about what I should do with this blog, which I’ve been enjoying so far.  Then I figured that the shortcut out of Awkward Woods and back to the Meadow of Professionalism is just to not review any YA books, so I can at least remain somewhat impartial.  Good news: that Dragons of Babel review is still coming!  Bad news: now you’ll miss out on my excellent taste in YA lit.  Wink, wink.

In the meantime, since I’ve been a slacker at book reviews, enjoy my collection of hilarious book-related Ryan Gosling tumblr pages:

Hey girl.  I like the library too. at librarianheygirl.tumblr.com

Ryan Gosling Works in Publishing at ryangoslingpublishing.tumblr.com

and, appropriately, Ryan Gosling Reads Young Adult at ryangoslingyoungadult.tumblr.com

I have to say, I never found Mr. Gosling all that attractive before this meme took over tumblr–but punctuation-based jokes are a powerful mind-changer.  Case in point:

Awwww.  I am (obviously) a complete grammar geek, too.

*Yes, Veronica Roth is a HarperCollins YA author, and yes, my team works on her books.  No, this isn’t an obligatory plug–READ DIVERGENT IT’S SUPER AWESOME AND ALL OF GOODREADS SAYS SO. ;)  I will be reading INSURGENT in all of its uncopyedited manuscript glory as soon as it gets turned in.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 19, 2011 9:17 PM

    OMG, congratulations! That sounds like an amazing new job!

    <—is not jealous in the slightest. ;)

    • December 20, 2011 5:20 PM

      Thanks! :D I’ve been floating on a cloud for a few weeks now. And reading a ton of YA, of course–always a fun proposition.

  2. darwin47 permalink
    December 19, 2011 10:46 PM

    I still expect personal recommendations for excellent YA books, HarperCollins or not. =P

    • December 20, 2011 5:19 PM

      Oh, don’t worry. I’ll be stalking your Goodreads shelves and berating you for not having read things that are awesome.

Leave a Reply

