Skip to content

Laughs for Grammar Nerds

August 2, 2011
tags:

Since I am one, and since I feel like sharing some humor today, here’s a quick list of five humor picks for my fellow English geeks.

1. Alot Funnier Than You

In one of my absolute favorite grammar-based webcomics ever, Allie of the awesomely hilarious Hyperbole and a Half renders encounters with the wild Interwebsian “alot” a lot less cringe-worthy.

2. That’s a Sweet Ass-Comic

My second favorite grammar-based webcomic.  Warning: may result in ongoing laughter at statements and text messages no one else thinks are funny.  (Guilty!)

3. Don’t eat grandpa!

Courtesy of the Interwebs at large, unless someone knows the original source.  To comma, or not to comma?  It can be a life-or-death decision.

Not Grandpa!

4. To continue our Harry Potter theme…

And to further our understanding of the importance of commas, let’s detour to another Harry Potter-themed Failbook entry!

5. The Oatmeal reminds us all how to use semicolons.

Mostly I love this infographic for its completely cracked-out examples.  Remember, guys: punctuation saves lives from both cannibalism and rampaging bears!

A more serious post next week, I think, but for now, enjoy!  Let me know if I missed your favorite Internet grammar joke.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 2, 2011 7:18 PM

    I love this post! I have the “Let’s eat Grandpa” sign tacked up by my desk. Such grammar gems!

    • August 2, 2011 11:23 PM

      Thanks! The first time I saw the “let’s eat [grandparent]” joke was in Lynne Truss’ book Eats Shoots and Leaves, which you’ve probably read, judging from your blog. ;) Glad you enjoyed the post!

  2. August 4, 2011 7:10 AM

    I’ve heard the “Let’s eat(,) [person]” comma described as the Donner Party Commas. Grisly, but memorable!

Leave a Reply

