Skip to content

Witty Blog-Related Pun

June 21, 2011
tags: ,

So here we go on another Not Very Epic But Hopefully Fun Blog Adventure.  The last time I ventured into the blogosphereland, it was to keep my friends and family updated on my real-world adventures studying abroad in Oxford.  I managed to keep that up (for a whole three months!  Amazing!) just fine, so here we are!

Crunchy Dragon will be mostly my thoughts on books, TV, movies, games, and the crazed maelstrom of pop-culture goodness that is the Internet.  As I incline toward epic fantasy and oh-look-it’s-shiny sci-fi, there will be lots of that.  But given that I have a 21st-century attention span, the content of this blog will probably be pretty varied and unpredictable (and super-caffeinated, like me).

The name comes from an unattributable quote that’s made the rounds of bumper stickers and fantasy-themed websites everywhere: “Do not meddle in the affairs of dragons, for you are crunchy and taste good with ketchup.”  Which is in turn a take-off of this Tolkien gem from Lord of the Rings.  Which, in turn, makes me think of Ian McKellen’s Gandalf deadpanning the parody quote, and from there, the rest is history.

Of course, cranky dragons also led me to this face the adorable Toothless makes in How to Train Your Dragon:

Unamused Toothless is unamused.

O RLY?

A better approximation of my real-life sarcastic face may never be found.  On a CGI dragon, anyway.

Here’s hoping my blog is a fun read, and at least occasionally provokes a laugh or, y’know, a serious thought.  And that I find the time to update it every now and again.  Onward!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

